The OSA Annual Awards have their winners, Preciosa produced the trophies

19. 07. 2017

Prague 8th June 2017 – The Copyright Protection Association (Ochranný svaz autorský, known by its Czech acronym OSA) presented its awards for the twelfth time to the most successful music composers, lyricists and publishers. The OSA Annual Awards are the only ones in the Czech Republic which are awarded on the basis of statistics sent from radio and television broadcasters, operators of on-line music services, manufacturers and sellers of music media and concert promoters.

Miloš Bok received two awards, one as the Most Successful Classical Music Composer and the second in the category of Classical Composition of the Year. Like last year, the Popular Song of the Year award went to Pohoda, which was penned by Tomáš Krulich (music) and Milan Špalek (lyrics). The Most Successful Lyricist of the Year title went to Ondřej Ládek, alias Xindl X. The award for the Most Successful Composer of Popular Music went to Petr Janda. The Most Successful Authors Abroad were Vladimír Kočandrle in the area of popular music and Miroslav Srnka in the area of classical music. The Most Successful Publisher this year was Warner/Chappell Music, s.r.o. CZThe Most Successful Concert of the Year was performed by the group Lucie, while the tour was organised by Live Nation, s.r.o.

The Prize for the Promotion and Dissemination of Czech Music went to Jiří Bělohlávek in memoriam. “I am personally very sorry that Mr Jiří Bělohlávek, who worked to promote and disseminate Czech music both here and especially abroad, did not live to receive this award,” added Roman Strejček, the Chairman of the Board of Directors at OSA. 

Only the OSA Golden Award for contributions to Czech music, which went to Ivana Loudová this yearand the OSA Golden Fund for the most-played works or authors over the long term are awarded on the basis of a decision by the OSA Supervisory Board. Petr Novák was inducted into the Golden Fund in memoriam, as was the song Variace na renesanční téma (lyrics by Václav Hrabě and music by Vladimír Mišík). The OSA Annual Awards are also the only awards which bring together authors across the music genres. The awards included a total of 15 categories this year.

The trophy which the award winners received was redesigned this year. The crystal note originated in the Preciosa workshops. It is the work of the designer Lenka Parkanová, who designed the trophy in the shape of a crystal note.

This year’s awards took place under the patronage of the Ministry of Culture of the Czech Republic.